Our contact

Our LIFE network

LIFE-3E

The goal of LIFE-3E: Environment-Energy-Economy is to develop and demonstrate an innovative process to promote water reclamation and reuse, integrating the production of in-situ renewable energy in the coastal Urban Wastewater Treatment Plant (UWWTP) of Comillas (Cantabria, Spain). This so-called Blue Energy will be generated by recovering the energy contained in the saline gradient through Reverse Electrodialysis. The project aims to contribute to improve the sustainability of water resources, promoting water reuse for road and street cleaning. In addition, it will minimize the external energy demand for wastewater treatment processes and reduce the Greenhouse Gas Emissions related to the consumption of fossil fuels.

Project website

LIFE WAT’SAVEREUSE

WAT’SAVEREUSE is an international and interregional project funded by the EU’s LIFE programme, taking place in the Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion. The general objectives of the project are to communicate and raise awareness about the benefits of transnational initiatives and legislation that promote the circular economy of water, particularly in the tourism sector, thereby reducing consumption and the need to resort to the reuse of treated water as an alternative resource. The project will help alleviate the identified environmental problem (water scarcity and drought), in particular through awareness campaigns aimed at various target groups: tourists, tourist establishments, municipalities, public bodies, and local authorities. The project runs from 2020 to 2023.

Project website

LIFE HIDAQUA

The project LIFE HIDAQUA comprehensively addresses the water management in EU industrialized areas, mainly focusing on the Mediterranean area, by addressing environmental problems i) the depletion of natural drinking water sources, ii) the low ecological and chemical status of natural water bodies due to the emissions of pollutants in industrial wastewater discharge, iii) burdening of the environment, especially natural water bodies, with the discharging of liquids and the landfilling of wastes from water treatment processes. The main objective of the LIFE HIDAQUA project is to demonstrate a sustainable water management approach in industry like Hidria factory, which is one of the leading European corporations in the production of automotive components. The project takes place from 2019 to 2023.

Project website

LIFE Waste2Coag

The LIFE Waste2Coag project aims to demonstrate an innovative and resource-efficient technology solution for brine and metal waste valorisation to produce sustainable coagulants for wastewater treatment. The technology is based on electrolysis (ELS) and the coagulants produced can be applied in-situ for pollutant removal at both wastewater treatment plants and industrial plants. Industrial scrap metallic wastes, generated by the metal industry, and brines, produced in desalination plants and industrial plants, will be valorised. Therefore, the project creates synergies between desalination plants, industrial plants and wastewater treatment plants, promoting a circular economy model. The project runs from 2021 to 2024.

Project website

LIFE MCUBO

The LIFE MCUBO project developed a methodology for minimising the environmental impacts related to water use in the food industry, through an integral water management system based on new low-cost sensor and wireless monitoring technology (Plug&Lean system) that measures water usage in production processes. From 2016 to 2019, LIFE MCUBO project have developped this technology in three food industry subsectors with high water consumption: meat, juices, and canned vegetables. The project demonstrated the potential of a more efficient use of water resources, which would lead to increasingly competitive food industries.

Project website

LIFE ZEUS

The ZEUS project aims to demonstrate the technical and economic feasibility of an advanced water recycling solution at the MONIN syrup manufacturing plant in Bourges. The objective is to achieve zero liquid discharge by separating three flows in order to reuse them: high-quality water that is suitable for food contact; mineral salts for regenerating softener resins; and concentrated organic compounds for producing renewable energy. At the end of the follow-up work carried out by INSA Toulouse during the project, the CHEMDOC WATER technological solution will be transferred and disseminated to other agri-food industries, notably by the International Office for Water. The project will last 42 months and will end in 2025.

Project website

Twitter LinkedIn

Nous contacter

Notre réseau LIFE

LIFE-3E

L’objectif de LIFE-3E : Environnement-Energie-Economie est de promouvoir la récupération et la réutilisation de l’eau en développant un processus innovant de traitement de celle-ci, qui comprend la production d’énergie renouvelable au sein de la station d’épuration des eaux usées urbaines côtière de Comillas (Cantabrie, Espagne). Cette énergie, dite bleue, sera générée en récupérant l’énergie contenue dans le gradient salin par électrodialyse inverse. Le projet vise à contribuer à l’amélioration de la durabilité des ressources en eau, en favorisant la réutilisation de l’eau pour le nettoyage des routes et des rues. En outre, il minimisera la demande d’énergie externe pour les processus de traitement des eaux usées et réduira les émissions de gaz à effet de serre liées à la consommation de combustibles fossiles.

Site web du projet

LIFE WAT’SAVEREUSE

WAT’SAVEREUSE est un projet international et interrégional financé par le programme LIFE de l’Union européenne, prenant place sur le territoire de l’Eurorégion Pyrénées-Méditerranée. Les objectifs généraux du projet sont de communiquer et de faire connaître les bienfaits des initiatives et des législations transnationales qui favorisent l’économie circulaire de l’eau, en particulier dans le secteur du tourisme, réduisant ainsi la consommation et la nécessité de recourir à la réutilisation de l’eau traitée comme ressource alternative. Le projet contribuera à atténuer le problème environnemental (pénurie d’eau et sécheresse), notamment par le biais de campagnes de sensibilisation à destination notamment des touristes, des établissements touristiques, des municipalités, des organismes publics et des autorités locales. Le projet a lieu de 2020 à 2023.

Site web du projet

LIFE HIDAQUA

Le projet LIFE HIDAQUA aborde de manière globale la gestion de l’eau dans les zones industrialisées de l’UE, en se concentrant principalement sur la région méditerranéenne, en s’attaquant aux problèmes environnementaux suivants : i) l’épuisement des sources naturelles d’eau potable, ii) le faible état écologique et chimique des masses d’eau naturelles dû aux émissions de polluants dans les rejets d’eaux usées industrielles, iii) la charge sur l’environnement, en particulier sur les masses d’eau naturelles, due aux rejets de liquides et à la mise en décharge des déchets issus des processus de traitement de l’eau. L’objectif principal du projet LIFE HIDAQUA est de faire la démonstration d’une approche de gestion durable de l’eau dans une industrie comme l’usine Hidria, qui est l’une des principales sociétés européennes dans la production de composants automobiles. Le projet prend place de 2019 à 2023.

Site web du projet

LIFE Waste2Coag

Le projet LIFE Waste2Coag vise à mettre en place une solution technologique innovante et économe en ressources pour valoriser les saumures et les déchets métalliques afin de produire des coagulants durables pour le traitement des eaux usées. La technologie est basée sur l’électrolyse, et les coagulants produits peuvent être appliqués in situ pour l’élimination des polluants dans les stations d’épuration et les installations industrielles. Les déchets métalliques industriels, générés par l’industrie métallurgique, et les saumures, produites dans les usines de dessalement et les installations industrielles, seront valorisés. Par conséquent, le projet crée des synergies entre les usines de dessalement, les usines industrielles et les stations d’épuration des eaux usées, en favorisant un modèle d’économie circulaire. Le projet se déroule de 2021 à 2024.

Site web du projet

LIFE MCUBO

Le projet LIFE MCUBO a développé une méthodologie pour réduire les impacts environnementaux liés à l’utilisation de l’eau dans l’industrie alimentaire, grâce à un système intégral de gestion de l’eau basé sur une nouvelle technologie de capteurs et de surveillance sans fil à faible coût (système Plug&Lean), qui mesure l’utilisation de l’eau dans les processus de production. De 2016 à 2019, le projet LIFE MCUBO a développé cette technologie dans trois sous-secteurs de l’industrie alimentaire à forte consommation d’eau : la viande, les jus et les légumes en conserve. Le projet a démontré la possibilité d’utiliser la ressource en eau de manière plus efficace, pouvant conduire à l’augmentation de la compétitivité des industries alimentaires.

Site web du projet

LIFE ZEUS

Le projet ZEUS vise à démontrer la faisabilité technique et économique d’une solution de recyclage avancé de l’eau sur le site de l’usine MONIN de fabrication de sirop à Bourges. Le but est de conduire au zéro rejet liquide par la séparation de 3 flux en vue de leur valorisation : l’eau de haute qualité conforme au contact alimentaire ; les sels minéraux pour la régénération des résines d’adoucisseurs ; et les composés organiques concentrés pour la production d’énergie renouvelable. La solution technologique de CHEMDOC WATER sera, à l’issue des travaux de suivi réalisés par l’INSA Toulouse pendant la durée du projet, transféré et disséminé dans d’autres industries agro-alimentaires, notamment par l’Office international de l’eau. Le projet se déroule sur 42 mois et se termine en 2025.

Site web du projet

Twitter LinkedIn